large number of Orthodox holy sites focused on ancient Crimean land: men's and women's monasteries, temples, life-giving springs and much more.For example, near the city of Bakhchisarai can observe picturesque gorge that cuts through the mountains though.It is called Mariam-Dere and translated from the Tatar language as "the valley of Mary."This place is fascinating for its beauty, which is why a significant amount of time ago it was decided to build here the Holy Dormition Monastery.He - one of the oldest Orthodox shrines Crimea.
versions of its origin
There are two options under consideration appearance of the monastery.The first version shows the assumption that it was founded in the VIII-IX centuries.fled from Byzantine monks ikonopochitateley.The gorge Maryam-Dere, in their view, was similar to the ancient Athos (Holy Mountain to the north east of Greece), and reminded them of their homeland.And an important point acted presence here source of fresh water.
The second version says that the Holy Dormition Monastery appeared in the XV century.It is assumed that he was moved to the valley of the caves, located near the southern gate of the fortress Kirk-Or, which was captured by the Turks in 1475.A second version of the origin of the monastery supports the famous explorer Bertier de la Garde, who has been studying the Crimea.According to him, there were ancient manuscripts, is a confirmation of a second embodiment of the history of the consideration of the Orthodox shrines.
What happens to the monastery today?
For a long time he was not restored.Therefore, at the moment the monastery is reviving thanks to the hard work of the parishioners, monks and patrons.At the moment, it has been restored cave Assumption Church and Rock icons located on her balcony, and passed the restoration of the staircase that leads to the top floor where you can get to the light cells.
The construction of the bell tower dome is gilded.They were cast in the Dneprodzerzhinsk Metallurgical Combine completely free.
also in the Holy Dormition Monastery is a list of the Mother of God, which is called Three Hands.For many years it is visited by many pilgrims, like many others Monastery of the Crimea.
Documentary evidence regarding the founding of the Orthodox shrines and its first ten years of existence, has not been preserved.There is a tradition in which the appearance of the monastery associated with St. Sergius of Radonezh, who came in 1386, the city of Ryazan.The purpose of his arrival was reconciliation Moscow and Ryazan great princes, namely, Dmitry Donskoi and Prince Oleg.
There are other versions unconfirmed chronicles data, one of which is Holy Trinity Monastery was founded Ryazan bishop Arseny I in 1208, during the reign of Prince Roman Glebovich, as one of the fortifications erected along the perimeter of Pereyaslavl - Ryazan.
Like many Orthodox monastery, it has its own unique history.This shrine was repeatedly ruined in the time of the Mongol invasion.This was evidenced in the documents of the Holy Trinity from the 1595-1597 and 1628-1629 years.
In 1695, Steward II Verderevsky erected on the site of a wooden monastery stone church in the name of the Most Holy Trinity, which later, more precisely, in 1697, referred to as the Church of St. John the Baptist.Then, build the bell tower in three tiers with large gate for entry.It creates a stone wall, consisting of five angular towers, and various residential and commercial construction type.
Then, in 1752, the grandson of the means I. Verderevsky Sergievskiy erected a stone church.This was followed by deprivation of the status of the monastery.This occurred in April 23, 1919.In the future, namely in 1934, the main shrine buildings were transferred to the extended use of the tractor workshop.Then they operated locomotive depot, driving school and by the automotive equipment.
1987 was marked by the decision of the executive committee of the city of Ryazan, about recreating the monument of architecture and history of pre-existing Orthodox shrines such as the Trinity Monastery and perpetuate the memory of the great architect MF Kazakov.
Since the beginning of 1994 is a restoration of the church of St. Sergius, and December 17, 1995 performed the consecration of his Baptist chapel.Then, the Holy Synod of 22 December 1995 makes a decision about the revival of the monastery under consideration.Chief Sergius chapel was consecrated April 8, 1996.And on November 27, 1997 - Theodore chapel.
What this Orthodox shrine offers pilgrims today?
wishing to visit the Holy - Trinity Monastery is always accessible and comfortable hotel, where you can share a meal and, according to possibilities, to stay for the night.Pilgrims are invited to visit a library, in which more than 1400 books.In particular there are the texts of the Holy Scriptures, the liturgical books, the works of the Holy Fathers, periodicals and many other books of spiritual and edifying reading.
Reborn Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery
One of the first mentions of this Saratov monastery belongs to the middle of the XVII century, the so-called left-bank era in the history of the city.After a devastating fire, which occurred June 21, 1811, the old Orthodox shrine, located at that time near Mount Sokolova, was completely burned.In 1812, due to World War II and post-war devastation, reconstruction was suspended monastery buildings.
Further, by order of Emperor Alexander I, in the period dating from 1914, prior to a shrine devoted to a new location outside the city, more precisely, at the foot of Bald Mountain.Currently, there runs a street called Avenue 50 years of October.
Construction of the monastery complex, namely two buildings for the residence of monks and Catholic Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord, began since 1816 by the famous architect Luigi Rusca.
In 1820 was the consecration of the monastery.Then, in 1904 by architects P. Zybina and V. Karpenko at the main church bell tower was rebuilt at the expense of donation founder of the Saratov circus - Nikitin Brothers.In the early 30-ies the monastery cathedral and a number of its buildings dismantled, demolished tower.
St. Nicholas Monastery of the ancient city of Rylsk
At the confluence of the Sejm and the snout built above an Orthodox shrine in honor of St. Nicholas.As for the location, it is very picturesque.Structures monastery located on Krutoyarov, ie the hill, which has a steep eastern slope, leaving the river, called the Bagpipe.You can also admire the sprawling plains, sometimes diluted oak groves and meadows, which, in turn, separated winding river Seim and numerous lakes.On the north side of the monastery runs a picturesque chain of hills covered with forests.They have steep white slopes, bearing the name of the Cretaceous Viskolskie mountains.
These records recorded mention of the wonderful assistance provided by St. John in the city Rylsk difficult time for him.In 1240, according to the chronicler, only Rylsk survived largely after Batu pogrom.The reason was that the people called for his patron, after which he was the face of the wall, which blinded the Tatars and thus saved all.Then, in 1502, and the intercession of the saint saved the city from the forces of the Golden Horde Khan named Ahmed.
Nicholas monastery, which bore the name of the previously Volyn desert, first mentioned in 1505.This period and subsequently became the date of its foundation.Then, in 1615, burned down the shrine of the Polish-Lithuanian troops False Dmitry.And only in the beginning of the XVIII century on the site of an earlier wooden churches were built of stone, in particular, two-storey St. Nicholas, the lower church is lit in honor of the revered Mother of God, called the Sign Kursk Root, Holy Cross and Holy Trinity.
Schema-archimandrite Hippolyte, who was known as the Orthodox world, the old man who played an important role in the revival of the monastery, compared with the structure of the church of Saint Nicholas sailing ships.
It is located 30 km from Kazan.Notably this place is characterized not only magnificent architectural performance of the monastery, but also a very amusing story with regards to its foundation.
monk Filaret decided to donate his inheritance, the remaining after the parents died, to charity, and to devote themselves to the service of the Lord.To do this, he goes to study in the Moscow seminary.Later Filaret gaining popularity as a spiritual mentor.Stormy attention of the congregation begins to weigh on him, and he goes walking in the city of Kazan.While wandering in the impassable forests near Smolensk lake it is a sign.It was the outstretched hand that points to the sacred space reserved for the construction of the temple.First he built a hut, where he lived as a hermit.Thus began the history of the monastery and a sacred place is popularly nicknamed "Raif", which translated is interpreted as "God stored place."By the deepest regret, Filaret did not see the full structure, currently referred to as the Virgin Monastery.
How does the Orthodox sanctuary today?
The monastery decided to get up early.At half past six in the morning hear the bells chime.This indicates that the parishioners are invited to morning prayer.Path to the Raif Monastery posted numerous flower beds.To his right is the Cathedral of Our Lady of Georgia.The walls of the monastery are decorated with its icons.
In the center area of the monastery was built Trinity Cathedral, built early last century.He is one of the unique representatives of the architectural skill on how to set up Monastery of the era.They present an unusual acoustic features, due to which the church choir singing rushes up and flying for a distance of over three kilometers.
Currently, much effort is applied to ensure that the unique revive Orthodox traditions, and of course the shrine.First of all it concerns the reconstruction of churches and monasteries due to the fact that they are not only institutions that help to meet the religious needs of the faithful, but also the spiritual and historical centers that form the foundation of the Russian state.