Since 2005 Pavlovsk - a small beautiful town in the Pushkin district of St. Petersburg.It is located at the Slavyanka River, 30 km north of the capital.Until 1796 it was the village of Pavlovsk, founded in 1777.
little history In 1777, land in the valley of the Slavyanka River became the property of Paul Petrovich - the Grand Duke Romanov.The farmstead was called "Selo Pavlovsk."The whole architectural ensemble was created and perfected for almost 50 years.The author of the project was the Palace Park and the Scot Charles Cameron, who was invited to Russia for processing of Tsarskoye Selo.Elegant and refined Pavlovsk Palace was built on the site of an old wooden building.Besides Cameron finished his design and in different periods involved Voronikhin, Carlo Rossi, George. Kvarnegi, VF Brenna.The village of Pavlovsk was created as a summer imperial residence, but in 1788 Pavel Petrovich decided to give it to his wife, leaving himself Gatchina Palace.
week after joining Paul on the throne, he personally ordered to rename the village to the city of Pavlovsk.
Grand Pavlovsk Palace
The size structure is significantly inferior to many suburbs of St. Petersburg, and recalls a rich and elegant Italian villa in the style of the architect Palladio.The core of the palace became quite compact three-storey building, on either side of which there are wings with curved galleries.
First appearance of the structure was different from that which we can see today.According to historians, one-storey side galleries were added later.The front facade of the palace is decorated with eight Corinthian columns.The building is crowned with a dome often spaced columns.To work on the palace was brought architect Brenna, who was able to significantly expand and build on the palace side pavilions and galleries.This happened even before Paul came to the throne.
interior of the Pavlovsk Palace, the photo you see in this article, has a notable contrast between his strict appearance and luxurious interiors.The ground floor features a living room, bedroom, study, dining room.On the second floor were the premises, registration of which was of a representative character.There is
Hall and the Hall of the World War II.For a while Wars Hall played the role of the Small Throne Hall.Large Throne Hall was in the South Hall of the Pavlovsk Palace.The area of construction is 400 m2.Living quarters, as well as staterooms - is a suite, which is located on the perimeter of the palace.The third floor was completely given over to office space.
center of the building as the Italian room, located under the dome.Its main decoration was a magnificent chandelier, made of bronze and ruby glass in the late XVIII century.The decoration of the hall was attended Brenna, Cameron, Voronikhin.
If you are lucky enough to come to St. Petersburg, Pavlovsk Palace must necessarily enter into your sightseeing plan.You must own eyes to see not only the magnificent palace, but a stunning park that surrounds it.Its area is 600 acres and is a prime example of an English-style park construction.It is characterized by emphasizing the natural beauty of nature untouched by man.
Park is decorated with many architectural structures: Aviary, Three Graces Pavilion, dairy, Turkish furniture, Italian staircase.On the upper deck you can admire the beautiful panorama of the river valley.There is also the Temple of Friendship.This work is Cameron antique round temple, which is installed along the perimeter kanellirovannye Doric columns supporting the dome.
natural part of the park includes a mass grave, Parade Field, Pink Pavilion.At the southern border of the park with a small and very cozy ancient temple called the "Monument to the parents."It was built in 1786, the Grand Empress Maria Fedorovna.In addition, it is an effort to perpetuate the memory of his wife, ordered a project of the mausoleum with a pathetic epitaph "spouse benefactor."
Pavlovsk in XIX-XX centuries
main event in the city in the middle of the XIX century - is the appearance of the Tsarskoye Selo railway that connected it with St. Petersburg.The ultimate Pavlovsk station began.The station was designed by architect Shtakenshnejdera year became the center of musical life in St. Petersburg.There were bands running G. Mansfeld, B. Bilsen, Strauss Junior.Concert conducted by MM Ippolitov-Ivanov, Glazunov and many other well-known composers and musicians.
Until 1917 Pavlovsk palace remained the residence of Russian emperors.In 1918 it appeared the museum "Pavlovsk Palace."In the same year the city was renamed in honor of Slutsk revolutionary Vladimir Slutsky.
In 1941, the Nazis seized Pavlovsk Pavlovsk Palace was severely damaged.There were tens of thousands of felled trees, pavilions destroyed, burned down the palace, destroyed the station.Soviet troops liberated the city in January 1944.That's when it got its historical name.Almost immediately we began to carry out reconstruction work, which lasted until 1971.That was the year for visitors opened the Throne Hall and the Cavaliers.
gradually been restored and the park itself.Supervises the work of architects S. Popova-Gunich, F. Oleinik, IG Kaptsyug, Yu Tit, VB Mozhayskaya.The most active part in the restoration of all employees took the museum and its director AI Zelenova and responsible curator AM Kuchumov.
Collections Pavlovsk Palace
Their formation is due to travel to Europe by its owners.Visiting the famous masters, they bought sculptures, paintings, bronzes, porcelain dishes, unique silk fabrics.Museum of the world-famous products of arts and crafts and fine arts.A special place in the exposition is given a collection of ancient art, examples of Russian and West European culture of the XVIII century.
The museum has the most complete collection of the finest porcelain represented the end of XVIII and beginning of XIX century.Pieces of furniture, particularly interesting for historians - the work of the German and French masters.Considerable interest is the furniture and figures A. Voronikhin.Many of the rooms of the palace have been removed unique tapestries.In addition, the museum has a rare collection of engravings, miniatures, paintings, chandeliers and clocks.
Gatchina: Pavlovsk Palace
This grand structure is located on the shores of Silver Lake.He began to build in 1765 by order of Empress Catherine II.It was unprecedented in their generosity gift favorite of the Empress Count Orlov.For him, architect Rinaldi built a palace, which resembled a hunting castle with towers and underground tunnels.Its construction lasted almost 16 years.
the main entrance is a statue of Markiori Morleytera and "Justice", "War", "Peace", "Caution".For the first time in the history of domestic architecture in the wall of the building was used natural materials - local stone.The Palace is made and the classical style, in those days, a completely new and unknown.
Graf Orlov, lover of luxury, did not spare huge money for the improvement of the palace and soon turned it into a magnificent residence.After his death, Catherine bought a gift from the heirs of Orlov and gave it to his son Paul I - the future of the Russian emperor.
new owner redid the Pavlovsk Palace to your liking.Reconstruction directed by famous architect Brenn.After graduation he began to resemble the palace complex at the same time sturdy fortification and suburban villa.Changed interior decoration increased halls and galleries reception rooms become true examples of Russian classicism magnificent XVIII and XIX centuries.
From 1801 to 1828 years of Pavlovsk Palace belonged to the widow of Paul I, Empress Maria Fedorovna.At various times, the unique residence owned by the head of the Russian state: Nicholas I, Alexander II, Alexander III, Nicholas II.
The rebirth of the palace
Nazis during their retreat in 1944, burned the palace, however, thanks to the restorers, museum staff and social assistants Pavlovsk Palace Gatchina quickly restored, but the museum became available to the public only in 1985.Some areas of the Gatchina Palace restored in our days.